Community pharmacy awards night + 2020 and beyond

On Thursday 04 July 2019 Hertfordshire LPC held the annual general meeting at The Fielder Centre in Hatfield. The evening was very well attended and the feedback from the evening included “excellent presentation”, “very good venue, acoustics and food”, “great speakers” “very informative and great to network”. We were delighted to see so many on the night and we thank everyone who attended.

The RPS, GPhC, CPPE, NPA, Carers in Herts, HPFT, HertsHelp, Hertswise, Careline and Hertfordshire LPC each had a stand alongside some pharmaceutical companies. Thank you all for coming and meeting with our Hertfordshire contractors.


On the night Community Pharmacy Future “The Pledge” was launched.

We are inviting all community pharmacies and their teams to sign up to a pledge to safeguard the future of community pharmacy by committing to a change now in the best interests of your patients and your community. You can sign up to the pledge online or you can return this form by email.  The pledge requests that pharmacies and pharmacy staff make a promise to their local community, the profession and health and care stakeholders.


The full agenda has been published and the guests speakers have provided their presentations to view:

Future of pharmacy

Simon Dukes, Chief Executive Officer, PSNC

An Integrated Health and Care Strategy for A Healthier Future

Pharmacy and Medicines Optimisation Our journey so far…

Pauline Walton AD & Head of Pharmacy and Medicines Optimisation, East and North Herts Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)

Primary care Networks – How it affects you!

Michael Harrison, Executive Director, Beds and Herts LMC

PCNs – Why you should get involved?

Helen Musson, Chief Officer, Hertfordshire LPC



The end of the evening was to celebrate the excellent work Hertfordshire community pharmacies do. Simon Dukes presented the following awards:


Community pharmacist of the year – Sara Bloom.

Sara has been commended in the local paper for her support to patients and has consistently received high quality scores in relation to patient satisfaction.

“Sara’s commitment and dedication to her patients was very inspiring to read. Sara is not only dedicated to her patients and customers, but also to her staff. She is a real asset to her local community.”

Most engaged community pharmacy for diabetes pilot service 2018/2019 – Puja Tanna received the award for iMed, St Albans.

Delivered 67 initial diabetes consultations with 8 follow up diabetes consultations achieved so far.

The Judges said “Fantastic uptake of the service and dedication to provide care to patients with diabetes.”

Public Health community pharmacy of the year 2018/19 – Mark Nathan received the award for Boots, Hatfield.

Delivered 588 EHC consultations, 26 chlamydia returned screens and 12 stop smoking quits.

The Judges said “Great uptake of public health services, demonstrating their value and dedication to their local community.”

Advanced service delivery of the year for NUMSAS 2018/19 – Femi Kuranga received the awarded for Bennetts End, Hemel Hempstead.

47 NUMSAS referrals completed by the pharmacy.

The Judges said “The pharmacy have kept on top of the many referrals received. ”

Femi Karanga of Bennetts End Hemel Hempstead receives his award from Simon Dukes, PSNC for Advanced Service Delivery of the Year NUMSAS 2018/19

Advanced service delivery of the year for seasonal influenza vaccine service 2018/19 –  Zoe Tant received the awarded for Boots, St Albans.

Delivered 551 flu vaccinations.

The Judges said “Delivering over 500 vaccinations is a real achievement and should be celebrated.


​The awards were judged by:

  • Zainab Al-Kharsan, Service Development Pharmacist, PSNC
  • Rosie Taylor, Head of Service Development, PSNC
  • Amit Dawda, Deputy CDAO and Medication Safety Officer, NHS England and NHS Improvement – Midlands and East of England
  • Helen Musson, Chief Officer, Hertfordshire LPC


Highly commended certificates were presented to the following community pharmacies

  • Most Engaged Community Pharmacy for Diabetes Plus Service (St Albans and Harpenden) 2018-19  – Jade (Jersey Farm), St Albans
  • Public Health Community Pharmacy of the Year 2018-19 – Asda Hatfield and Grovehill, Hemel Hempstead
  • Advanced Service Delivery of the Year for NUMSAS (NHS Urgent medicine Supply Advanced Service) 2018-19 – Speedwell, Hemel Hempstead
  • Advanced Service Delivery of the Year for Seasonal Influenze Vaccine Service 2018/19 – Boots (High Street) Hitchin

Here are the draft minutes from 2019.

The next AGM will be held on Thursday 02 July 2020 and we will soon promote the 2020 awards night and how all community pharmacies and their teams can get involved to celebrate the good work you all do.